Star Trek TNG Cast Finally Getting The Recognition They Deserve

By Douglas Helm | Published

star trek hogwarts

Star Trek: The Next Generation is one of the most beloved sci-fi TV shows of all time, in no small part thanks to its incredible cast. Now, the entire cast of The Next Generation will be getting some much-deserved recognition at the upcoming Saturn Awards. Not only did the franchise itself achieve a franchise record 15 nominations, but the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror will be honoring the cast of The Next Generation with The Lifetime Achievement Award.

An Exception Was Made For The Next Generation Cast

A lifetime achievement award for a landmark series like Star Trek: The Next Generation might seem like an obvious move, but this award is extra special. The award is normally given to an individual, like previous honorees Stan Lee and Leonard Nimoy; this time, it’s being given to the entire cast of a show. A statement to from the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror explained, “we extended this award to cover the entire cast of Star Trek: The Next Generation, due to its continued influence on the face of general television.”

The Next Generation Is One Of The Most Important Shows In History

The statement expanded on the decision to award the entire cast, saying, “ It was originally doomed to failure since it was following in the footsteps of the original Star Trek, yet it carved its own identity, and its diverse cast was light years ahead of its time!” There are certainly no lies to be found in the Academy’s statement, as Star Trek: The Next Generation has truly been one of the most influential TV sci-fi of all time. And at a time when diversity in Hollywood wasn’t being prioritized or even considered, The Next Generation set itself apart by easily having one of the most diverse casts on TV.

Star Trek: The Next Generation Shaped Sci-Fi As We Know It

Star Trek: The Next Generation first launched in 1987 and ran for seven seasons, earning numerous accolades all along the way. The series was nominated for a whopping 58 Emmys and won 18. It also led to more Trek spin-offs like Deep Space Nine and Voyager, along with various other films. It’s safe to say that the franchise would not be what it is today if it wasn’t for The Next Generation.

The Cast Will Be There To Accept The Award

The Saturn Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to the cast of Star Trek: The Next Generation by Kevin Fiege. Patrick Stewart, Brent Spiner, Marina Sirtis, Gates McFadden, Michael Dorn, and Wil Wheaton will be present at the ceremony to accept the honor. LeVar Burton and Jonathan Frakes are also honored, though they won’t be attending due to scheduling conflicts.

This Year Introduces The Lance Reddick Legacy Award

lance reddick destiny 2

The cast of Star Trek: The Next Generation won’t be the only ones getting their deserved flowers, as this year’s Saturn Awards ceremony will also be dedicated to the memory of the late Lance Reddick. This year’s ceremony will also introduce the Lance Reddick Legacy Award, which will be presented to Keanu Reeves. Jodie Foster is also set to receive the Life Career Award during the ceremony.

Watch The Saturn Awards Live

If you want to tune in to this year’s Saturn Awards to see the cast of Star Trek: The Next Generation, make sure to tune in on Sunday, February 4. Joel McHale will host the ceremony and you can livestream it on ElectricNOW.

Source: TrekMovie