2013 Nebula Award Winners Include Space Operas And Imperiled Astronauts

By David Wharton | 7 years ago

AncillaryThe Nebula Awards are one of the Big Two when it comes to recognizing achievements in science fiction. The Hugo Awards are probably the better known of the two, and we covered the 2014 nominees for those just last month. Now the 2013 Nebulas have officially been awarded, and you can check out the full list of winners below. Time to update the old Amazon wish list…

The Nebulas are organized by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, which was founded by writer Damon Knight in 1965 and now includes over 1,500 members. The Nebulas were first awarded beginning in 1966. Originally they focused solely on science fiction literature, but over the years they began to expand their scope to include film and television as well. This year’s winners were awarded in San Jose last Saturday, May 17.

Here’s the full list of winners and nominees, along with links where possible.


Winner: Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK)



Winner: ‘The Weight of the Sunrise,’ Vylar Kaftan (Asimov’s 2/13)



Winner: ‘The Waiting Stars,’ Aliette de Bodard (The Other Half of the Sky)


Short Story

Winner: ‘If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love,’ Rachel Swirsky (Apex 3/13)


Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

Winner: Gravity


Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book

Winner: Sister Mine, Nalo Hopkinson (Grand Central)


Kevin O’Donnell Jr. Service to SFWA Award: Michael Armstrong

2013 Damon Knight Grand Master Award: Samuel R. Delany