The 38th Annual Saturn Awards Winners Announced

By Rudie Obias | Updated

This article is more than 2 years old

The AvengersAt the end of every awards season, there seems to be a sentiment echoed throughout all of science fiction, fantasy, and horror: “Why doesn’t the Academy of Arts & Sciences give genre movies the recognition they desereve?” Although there are some exceptions for directors such as Christopher Nolan, Peter Jackson, and Neill Blomkamp, overall genre movies fail to be awarded any prestige.

There’s a good thing the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films take the time to highlight the very best the genres have to offer. The winners of the 38th Annual Saturn Awards have been announced, with Joss Whedon and The Avengers receiving four of the awards.

Marvel’s The Avengers won the Best Science Fiction Film Award, beating out the Wachowskis and Tom Tykwer’s Cloud Atlas, Ridley Scott’s Prometheus, Chronicle, Looper, and The Hunger Games. Joss Whedon also received the Best Director award for his work on the aforementioned Avengers.

Whedon took the directorial award from a list of tough competition, including Ang Lee (Life of Pi), Peter Jackson (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey), Rian Johnson (Looper), William Friedkin (Killer Joe), and Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight Rises). The Avengers also received the award for Best Special Effects, and actor Clark Gregg nabbed one for Best Supporting Actor, for his role as Agent Coulson.

Turning to the TV side of things, NBC’s Revolution won the Best Network Television Series award, while AMC’s The Walking Dead received the award for Best Syndicated/Cable Television Series. Revolution beat out the recently concluded Fringe, but the folks behind that show didn’t go home empty handed. Australian Anna Torv won Best Actress on Television for her performance as FBI agent Olivia Dunham. Laurie Holden from The Walking Dead received Best Supporting Actress on Television for her recently ended role as Andrea.

On the home video side, the restored Little Shop of Horrors: The Director’s Cut won Best DVD/BD Special Edition Release, while Star Trek: The Next Generation Season 1 & 2 took home the Best DVD/BD Television Series Release award.

Richard Matheson posthumously received the Visionary Award for his work as a science fiction pioneer with such works as I Am Legend, The Shrinking Man, The Omega Man, The Last Man on Earth, and episodes of the Twilight Zone.

You can read the complete list of the 38th Annual Saturn Awards winners below:


  • Best Science Fiction Film: Marvel’s The Avengers
  • Best Fantasy Film: Life of Pi
  • Best Horror/Thriller Film: The Cabin in the Woods
  • Best Action/Adventure Film: Skyfall
  • Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey (Killer Joe)
  • Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence (The Hunger Games)
  • Best Supporting Actor: Clark Gregg (Marvel’s The Avengers)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway (The Dark Knight Rises)
  • Best Performance by a Younger Actor: Suraj Sharma (Life of Pi)
  • Best Director: Joss Whedon (Marvel’s The Avengers)
  • Best Writing: Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained)
  • Best Production Design: Dan Hennah (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey)
  • Best Editing: Alexander Berner (Cloud Atlas)
  • Best Music: Danny Elfman (Frankenweenie)
  • Best Costume: Paco Delgado (Les Miserables)
  • Best Make-Up: Heike Merker, Daniel Parker, Jeremy Woodhead (Cloud Atlas)
  • Best Special Effects: Janek Sirrs, Jeff White, Guy Williams, Dan Sudick (Marvel’s The Avengers)
  • Best Independent Film Release: Killer Joe
  • Best International Film: Headhunters
  • Best Animated Film: Frankenweenie


  • Best Network Television Series: Revolution
  • Best Syndicated/Cable Television Series: The Walking Dead
  • Best Presentation on Television: Breaking Bad
  • Best Youth-Oriented Series on Television: Teen Wolf
  • Best Actor on Television: Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad), Kevin Bacon (The Following) – tie
  • Best Actress on Television: Anna Torv (Fringe)
  • Best Supporting Actor on Television: Jonathan Banks (Breaking Bad)
  • Best Supporting Actress on Television: Laurie Holden (The Walking Dead)
  • Best Guest Star on Television: Yvonne Strahovski (Dexter)



  • The Lifetime Achievement Award: William Friedkin
  • The Dan Curtis Legacy Award: Vince Gilligan
  • The Visionary Award: Richard Matheson
  • The Life Career Award: Jonathan Frakes
  • Theater Showcase Award: Silence! The Musical