Norman Reedus Reveals First Look At The Ravaged

Check out the first look at The Ravaged by Norman Reedus. The Walking Dead star clearly has his career goals set in different arenas.

By Charlene Badasie | Published

This article is more than 2 years old

norman reedus

Norman Reedus is best known for playing the ever-popular Daryl Dixon in The Walking Dead. But now the crossbow-wielding zombie killer is adding “author” to his skill set with the release of his debut novel. Written by Reedus with a little help from Frank Bill, The Ravaged is described as a gritty, fast-paced story about three different people on personal quests with eerily similar outcomes.

The first character in Norman Reedus’s book is Jack who heads to South America with nothing but his demons and a backpack after losing his family. Then there’s Hunter who travels to California after his father dies and discovers secrets from his past. Finally, there’s 17-year-old Anne who flees Tennessee after her older brother attacks her, making her way to Alabama with her best friend.

Revealed by Entertainment Weekly, the cover art for The Ravaged and features red lips, a lit cigarette, and flames. While the book may come as a surprise to some folks, Norman Reedus has been working on it for a while. During a 2020 appearance on Friday Night in With the Morgans, the Walking Dead star said he was working on a book, but it wasn’t a tell-all autobiography or memoir that people would expect.

norman reedus

Although he was approached about sharing his life story for a long time, Norman Reedus said he wasn’t interested. According to the actor, he just wouldn’t want to incriminate any of his friends. “If I wrote a book about myself, there would be a lot of people knocking on my door to beat me up,” he told Jeffery Dean Morgan (via Entertainment Weekly).

The actor went on to share the concept of his novel with viewers, describing it as a story of hope and growing up. The narrative follows four stories that kind of interact. Explaining further, Norman Reedus said the characters learn from each other on a journey from the East Coast to the West Coast. “It has really nothing to do with my life, although there are a couple of stories that happen to them that are similar to things that happened to me,” he added. The Ravaged is set for release on April 5, 2022.

Meanwhile, fans can catch Norman Reedus in the eleventh and final season of The Walking Dead. The last installment in the post-apocalyptic horror series premiered on August 22, 2021, and will consist of 24 episodes. Developed for television by Frank Darabont, The Walking Dead is based on the series of comic books by Robert Kirkman, Tony Moore, and Charlie Adlard.

The new season of The Walking Dead adapts material from issues #175–193 of the comic book series. The story focuses on the group’s encounter with the Commonwealth, a large network of communities with advanced equipment and over 50,000 survivors living in different settlements. It also delves into the group’s confrontation with the Reapers, a mysterious faction of hostile survivors that attacked and took Meridian, the former home of Maggie and her new people – the Wardens. So far the 11th season of the Norman Reedus starrer has received mixed reviews from critics.