The Hunger Games: Catching Fire Unveils The Full Soundtrack

By Rudie Obias | 8 years ago

catching fire soundtrackMovie soundtracks are nothing new in Hollywood. As long as there have been movies there has been music to accompany the moving images to drive the story, to set pace, and to create mood, among other things. Soundtracks are also the best way to compile a great collection of songs, regardless of how you feel about the movie itself. For example, I’m not a fan of the Twilight movies (yes, I’ve seen them all), but I am a huge fan of each of the soundtracks.

A few weeks ago, the first single from The Hunger Games: Catching Fire—“Atlas” by Coldplay—came out. The song isn’t bad, but there’s nothing really spectacular or striking about it, unless you’re a huge fan of the band. Now Lionsgate and Republic Records have released the track list from the entire soundtrack. Catching Fire’s music supervisor Alexandra Patsavas compiled a comprehensive and impressive collection of songs for the highly anticipated sequel.

Along with Coldplay, the soundtrack features new songs from Christina Aguilera, Imagine Dragons, and Of Monsters And Men, as well as covers from New Zealand singer-songwriter Lorde (who covers a Tears For Fears song) and recording artist Ellie Goulding (covering a Justin Timberlake song). Indie rock band The National contributes a track titled “Lean,” originally titled “Dying Is Easy,” and the soundtrack has two songs from Abel Tesfaye AKA The Weeknd. Check out the entire track listing below:

1. “Atlas” – Coldplay
2. “Silhouettes” – Of Monsters and Men
3. “Elastic Heart” – Sia (ft. The Weeknd & Diplo)
4. “Lean” – The National
5. “We Remain” – Christina Aguilera
6. “Devil May Cry” – The Weeknd
7. “Who We Are” – Imagine Dragons
8. “Everybody Wants To Rule The World” – Lorde
9. “Gale Song” – The Lumineers
10. “Mirror” – Ellie Goulding
11. “Capital Letter” – Patti Smith
12. “Shooting Arrows At The Sky” – Santigold
13. “Place For Us” – Mikky Ekko
14. “Lights” – Phantogram
15. “Angel On Fire” – Antony and the Johnsons

Not only is The Hunger Games a commercially successful film series, the soundtracks also sell well. In 2012, the first soundtrack from The Hunger Games, “Songs from District 12 and Beyond,” debuted in the #1 spot on The Billboard 200 chart. It featured Taylor Swift’s (featuring The Civil Wars) “Safe & Sound,” which received a Grammy nomination for Best Country Duo/Group Performance and won a Grammy for Best Song Written for Visual Media in 2013. Arcade Fire’s “Abraham’s Daughter” also received a Grammy nomination.

Catching Fire stars Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Donald Sutherland, Elizabeth Banks, Lenny Kravitz, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Jeffrey Wright, Stanley Tucci, Toby Jones, Jena Malone, Lynn Cohen, Amanda Plummer, Alan Ritchson, Willow Shields, and Sam Claflin.

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire soundtrack will be available for purchase in stores and online on November 19th, while the film hits theaters everywhere on November 22. Take a listen to “Atlas” for yourself. The single is now available from and iTunes.