Jeopardy Getting An Elite Level Spin-Off

The recently announced Jeopardy! Masters brings together six of the best players in the history of the game show for a high-stakes tournament.

By Douglas Helm | Published

Ken Jennings Jeopardy

ABC is bringing us another Jeopardy! spin-off with Jeopardy! Masters. The spin-off will be one of the long-running quiz show’s most elite showdowns yet, as it will see six of the highest-ranked contestants from recent Jeopardy! history face off in a “Champions League style” competition. According to The Hollywood Reporter, the spin-off will feature hour-long episodes with two games featuring different combinations of the six contestants, leading up to an episode where a champion is declared.

The six contestants that are set to be featured on Jeopardy! Masters include Matt Amodio, Sam Buttrey, Andrew He, James Holzhauer, Mattea Roach, and Amy Schneider. Amy Schneider won the most recent Tournament of Champions and had a fantastic year on the quiz show, setting multiple records and entering second place for most consecutive games won, fourth place for highest winnings in regular season play, and fourth place for all-time winnings. This spin-off will be her latest chance to add to her impressive records.

Jeopardy! Masters will also provide a little bit of a revenge opportunity for Andrew He and Sam Buttrey, who were both defeated by Schneider in the Tournament of Champions. He placed second, and Buttrey placed third in the tournament, walking away with $100,000 and $50,000, respectively. With only six contestants in the new show format, the three competitors will inevitably be crossing paths and facing off against each other.

Jeopardy! Masters contestants Matt Amodio, Mattea Roach, and James Holzhauer hold some very impressive records of their own, so the competition should be fierce. Holzhauer is known for holding every top ten spot for single-game winnings in Jeopardy!, with his highest single-game win being $131,127. Holzhauer also holds the number three spot for all-time winnings and the number four spot for most consecutive games won.

jeopardy james holzhauer
James Holzhauer and his impressive winnings on Jeopardy!

Matt Amodio is another exciting addition to Jeopardy! Masters, as he holds the third spot for most consecutive games won right behind Amy Schneider and Ken Jennings. He also holds the third spot for the highest winnings in regular season play and the fifth spot for all-time winnings. It’ll be interesting to see what he brings to the tournament play.

Mattea Roach rounds off Jeopardy! Masters cast, as the youngest competitor on the list. However, she has had no problems setting some records of her own, nabbing the fifth spot on the list for most consecutive games won. Roach is also number six on highest winnings during regular season play and tenth on all-time winnings, though at age 24, she has plenty of time to climb those rankings.

Jeopardy! Masters will be produced by Sony Pictures Television and executive produced by Jeopardy! showrunner Michael Davies. Ken Jennings will serve as host of the spin-off while his Jeopardy! co-host Mayim Bialik will host Celebrity Jeopardy! on ABC, along with renewed game shows Celebrity Family Feud, Press Your Luck, and Claim to Fame. Ken Jennings replaced Alex Trebek as co-host with Bialik after Trebek’s passing, and is best known for holding the record for most consecutive games won, and the highest winnings during regular season play.