Jeopardy Announces A New Type Of Tournament

By Douglas Helm | Published

mayim bialik

The world’s most competitive trivia show just added a new type of tournament added to its lineup. According to the New York Post, Jeopardy! announced that they will be doing a High School Reunion Tournament that features returning contestants from their former Teen Tournament format. The most recent Teen Tournament ended in 2019 and was won by Avi Gupta, who earned a prize of $100,000.

The Jeopardy! High School Reunion Tournament is set to have 27 contestants in a 14-day event that will include nine quarterfinal games, three semifinals, and a two-day total point final. The winner of the High School Reunion Tournament will take home $100,000, and get a spot in the next Tournament of Champions. All of the contestants for the tournament will be undergraduates or recent college graduates.

The most recent winner, Avi Gupta, will return to compete once again in the Jeopardy! High School Reunion Tournament. Other returning contestants include former champion and Yale University senior Claire Sattler, Brown University freshman Justin Bolsen, University of West Florida junior Maggie Brown, Colombia University senior Tim Cho, Northwestern University senior Jack Izzo, Vanderbilt University junior Jackson Jones, University of Texas at Austin senior Rohan Kapileshwari, and Harvard University sophomore Shriya Yarlagadda.

The High School Reunion Tournament will be hosted by Jeopardy! co-hosts, Ken Jennings and Mayim Bialik, who are now the permanent rotating hosts of the trivia game show. The two were eventually offered the permanent co-hosting gig after the passing of long-time host Alex Trebek. Before Bialik and Jennings were named co-hosts, the show had a revolving door of hosts to fill the role.

ken jennings jeopardy
Ken Jennings hosting Jeopardy!.

Jeopardy! recently wrapped up the most recent Tournament of Champions in November, when Amy Schneider took home the grand prize. Schneider made history by becoming the first openly transgender contestant to compete in the Tournament of Champions and win the $250,000 prize. Schneider made history in her recent regular season run of the trivia contest, becoming the record holder among women for regular series winnings, and the second-place record holder for most consecutive games won, with only Ken Jennings’ 74 wins ahead of her.

To win the Jeopardy! Tournament of Champions, Schneider faced off against Andrew He and Sam Buttery in the finals. The tense six-day tournament saw Schneider come out on top on Day 2 and Day 4, with Andrew He pulling out wins on Day 1 and Day 3. Buttery managed to take home a win on Day 5, before Schneider clinched the tournament win on Day 6.

While we wait for the Jeopardy! High School Reunion Tournament to start on February 20, fans can look forward to the next tournament round of Celebrity Jeopardy! which will start on January 5. This will be the third round of qualifiers for one of the celebrity contestants to compete in the finals on February 2. The next round of contestants includes Michael Cera, Brianne Howey, Zoe Chao, Patton Oswalt, Candace Parker, Torrey DeVitto, B.J. Novak, Brendan Hunt, and Cari Champion.

The winners of this round of Celebrity Jeopardy! will go up against the finalists from Round One and Round Two, Ike Barinholtz and Wil Wheaton. Make sure to tune in to see who will be taking home the winnings for charity. In the meantime, you can catch regular season episodes of Jeopardy! every weekday.