0

Maze Runner Sequel The Scorch Trials Has Concept Art And A Release Date

The Scorch TrialsWhen Hollywood thinks they have a profitable new franchise on their hands, it doesn’t take them long to get the ball rolling so they can capitalize on the hype. This summer alone it took Paramount all of one big opening weekend to green light Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2, and Marvel gave Guardians of the Galaxy 2 the go ahead, and scheduled a release date, before the film even hit theaters. And it’s happening again. About a year ago, 20th Century Fox started work on The Scorch Trials, the sequel to the young adult novel adaptation The Maze Runner, which just opened this past weekend, and now, hot on the heels of a successful debut, we have the first piece of concept art from the sequel.

In their defense, when Fox made the announcement in October of 2013, The Maze Runner was still supposed to be released in February of 2014. The movie was actually supposed to hit theaters ahead of this year’s other new addition into the dystopian YA sweepstakes, Neil Burger’s adaptation of Veronica Roth’s Divergent. So, at the time anyway, the announcement didn’t come almost a year in advance of their movie, it was only a couple months.

0

Giant Freakin’ Bookshelf: Week Of September 22

As much as we love science fiction on TV, on the big screen, on the comics page, and in video game form, there’s just something irreplaceable about digging into a good book. There’s no shortage of new sci-fi adventures hitting shelves on a regular basis, but GFR is your one-stop shop to keep up with what’s hitting shelves in a given week. Here’s what’s new on the Giant Freakin’ Bookshelf!

HandfulDust“In a Handful of Dust” by Mindy McGinnis

Fans of classic frontier survival stories as well as readers of dystopian literature will enjoy this futuristic story about an epic cross-country journey. In a Handful of Dust is set ten years after the first novel, Not a Drop to Drink, as a dangerous disease strikes the community where teenage Lucy lives. When her adoptive mother, Lynn, takes Lucy away from their home and friends in order to protect her, Lucy struggles to figure out what home means. During their journey west to find a new life, the two face nature’s challenges, including hunger, mountains, and deserts.

New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant says Not a Drop to Drink is a debut ‘not to be missed,’ and this companion title is full of Mindy McGinnis’s evocative, spare language matched with incredible drama and danger. In a Handful of Dust is perfect for fans of Partials, Enclave, and Legend.

0

Book Review: The Art Of Jim Burns: Hyperluminal

Jim BurnsEven if the name Jim Burns doesn’t immediately ring any bells, odds are that, as an avid consumer of science fiction over the previous decades, you’ve encountered more of his art than you know. He has worked on movies, games, and books for longer than many of us have been alive, and his shelves at home are speckled with trophies that include multiple Hugo Awards and numerous British Science Fiction Awards, among others. His gorgeous new book, The Art of Jim Burns: Hyperluminal is scheduled to hit bookstores (both brick and mortar as well as digital) at the end of this month and collects may of his paintings and covers, both that you’ve seen and that you haven’t.

Burns is probably most known for his concept work on Ridley Scott’s Blade Runner. He’s largely responsible for the look of the flying cars that, while modern, still maintain some classic lines. (In addition to that, he also did some work for Scott on his adaptation of Frank Herbert’s Dune, a film that, sadly, never came to fruition.) As author Joe Haldeman (The Forever War) says in his introduction, while Burns has all the technical bells and whistles—clean lines, good composition, unique color work—it’s this ability to take everyday objects and give them a “science fictionalization,” to take the mundane and make it something fantastic and otherworldly, many infused with a sense of eroticism and sensuality.

2

Star Trek 3 Moves Closer To Becoming A Reality With Plot And Production Details

StarfleetThe story of Star Trek 3 has been hurry up and wait. It seems like there’s a bunch of movement, followed by a period of inactivity. Surely that’s just what we in the public sector hear and there is a more continual progress behind the scenes, but it’s starting to look like the ball is really getting rolling. Just the other day, star Zachary Quinto said he expects production to begin within six months, and now we’ve found some additional details about what this film will actually look like, and when we might see it.

TrekMovie.com has a new report that updates the status of the film. There’s nothing super Earth shattering, as this article mostly confirms other news and rumors that have been floating about, but it’s nice to have a bit more of an idea of the direction this film is heading.

0

Sci-Fi Thriller Infini Channels Ridley Scott In Trailer And Poster

If you’re going to emulate any style, it might as well be an awesome one, and that’s exactly the vibe you get from Infini, a new sci-fi thriller from director Shane Abbess (Gabriel). He was looking to capture the gritty look and feel of those cool pulpy genre films from the 1970s and 80s, and if this trailer, some new photos, and posters are an accurate representation, then he’s definitely accomplished his goal.

The story follows a search and rescue team who use Slipstream technology to transport themselves to a distant mining colony in order to save the single survivor of a freak accident. But something is obviously wrong, and as you can tell from this trailer, he thinks he’s home now. When someone loses their shit like that, it’s never a good sign. Along the way, the team also has to locate and quarantine a biological weapon that is set to appear on Earth within an hour, which, as you probably figured out on your own, would be very, very bad.

1

Alfred Bester’s The Stars My Destination Is Early Cyberpunk And Classic Sci-fiAt Its Best

Stars_my_destination_masterworksI’ll admit I hadn’t read any of Alfred Bester’s work until I realized that Bester on Babylon 5 was named after him. Even though the character is an evil Psi Cop who’s obsessed with hunting down rogue telepaths, I still wanted to get to know the his namesake, so I picked up one of Bester’s most well-known novels, The Stars My Destination.

The novel isn’t at all what I expected. Come to think of it, I don’t know what I expected, but suffice it to say, it wasn’t what I got. Written in 1956 (the previous iteration, Tyger Tyger, was published a couple years earlier), which makes it all the more impressive, it doesn’t move quite as quickly as most contemporary sci-fi does. The biggest surprise for me was how disgusting the protagonist, Gully Foyle, is. Bester does an amazing job drawing a loathsome main character that readers can’t help but rooting for—or at least, hoping he’ll get what he’s owed.